MEDIA





HOCKESSIN


SERMON RECORDINGS



The Wonder of a Star                                                                    Sun, December 1, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Matthew 2 :1-2, 9-11

 

Thanks Be To God                                                                          Sun, November 24, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Matthew 25 :14-30

 

This We Believe week 7   What is Grace?                           Sun, November 17, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Psalms 59:8-10

 

This We Believe week 6   Who is God the Holy Spirit?                Sun, November 10, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  John 15:26-27

 

This We Believe week 5   Who is God the Son?                         Sun, November 3, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  John 1:1:3


This We Believe week 4   Your Spiritual Mindset                    Sun, October 27, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Matthew 13:1:9

 

This We Believe week 3   Who is God the Father                    Sun, October 20, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Genesis 1:1


This We Believe week 2                                                         Sun, October 13, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  2 Timothy 3:16-17

 

This We Believe week 1                                                         Sun, October 6, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Psalms 78:1-4

 

Why Do Bad Things Happen To Good People   Sun, September 29, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Job 1:13-22


The Shark, the Carp and the Dolphin                         Sun, September 22, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Matthew 13:47-49

 

TGIM -Thank Goodness It's Monday?                         Sun, September 15, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Psalm 90:10-12

 

The Great Cost of Discipleship?                                            Sun, September 8, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Laura A. Martin                              Passage:  Luke 14:25-33


How Can I be like Obed-edom?                                             Sun, September 1, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  1 Chronicles 13:12-14

 

Things That Must Never Change week  4          Sun, August 25, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Hebrews 5:11-6:3

 

Things That Must Never Change week  3          Sun, August 18, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Romans 12: 9-16

 

Things That Must Never Change week 2           Sun, August 11, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Matthew 6:1-4

 

Things That Must Never Change week 1           Sun, August 4, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Colossians 3:1-2

 

When You Leave Too Soon                                     Sun, July 28, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Mark 16:6-7

 

Running On Empty                                                    Sun, July 21, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Psalm 27

 

Frustrated or Fulfilled                                              Sun, July 14, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Acts 3:1-10

 

An Unmistakable Aroma                                         Sun, July 7, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Laura A. Martin                            Passage:  Luke 7:36-50

 

How to Rise Above Discouragement                  Sun, June 30, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Laura A. Martin                            Passage:  Luke 7:11-17

 

We Need A Downpour Part 4                                Sun, June 23, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Colossians 3:12-17

 

We Need A Downpour Part 3                                Sun, June 16, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Galatians 5:6-22

 

We Need A Downpour Part 2                                Sun, June 9, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Romans 8:1-8

 

We Need A Downpour Part 1                                Sun, June 2, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  John 14:26

 

Freedom From Religion                                          Sun, May 26, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Luke 18:9-14

 

You Can Learn a Lot From an Ant                        Sun, May 19, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Proverbs 6:6-11

 

Offering Ourselves to God                                     Sun, May 12, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Roman's 6:12-14, 23

 

Gone Fishin'                                                                Sun, May 5, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Laura  A. Martin                            Passage:  John 21:1-19


The Rock of our Salvation                                      Sun, April 28, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Psalm 95

 

Easter Sunday: Who Are We Looking  For?      Sun, April 21, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  John 20:1-18


Palm Sunday: A Defining Moment            Sun, April 14, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Laura A.  Martin                             Passage:  Luke 19:28-40

 

Give It Up: Hello?  Anyone There?             Sun, April 7, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Daniel 3:19-27

 

Give It Up: En-tube-tainment                     Sun, March  31, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Isaiah 40:27-31

 

Give It Up: Talk Talk Talk                              Sun, March  24, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  1 Kings 19:9-18

 

Give It Up: Social Butterfly                          Sun, March  17, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Mark 12:28-31

 

Give It Up: Mirror Mirror                                Sun, March  10, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Philippians 4:8-9


The Transfiguration of Jesus                      Sun, March  3, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Mark 9:2-9

 

Lip Service                                                        Sun, February 24, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Isaiah 6:1-8


Disciples in Difficult Places                        Sun, February 17, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Philippians 4:19-23

 

HOPE                                                                  Sun, February 10, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Isaiah 35:1-10

 

Suffer With Christ                                          Sun, February 3, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vernon Bryant                              Passage:  Romans 8:19-27

 

Unwelcome at Home                                   Sun, January 27, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Laura Martin                              Passage:  Luke 4:14-21


Why Worship                                                   Sun, January 20, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  Psalm 73:1-7

 

The Meaning of Baptism                              Sun, January 13, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  Luke 3:15-17,: 21-22

 

Spiritual Armor                                                Sun, January 6, 2019

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  Ephesians 6: 10-20

 

Christmas into New Year 2019                   Sun, December 30, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  Matthew 2: 7-14

 

Unwrapping Christmas                                 Sun, December 23, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  Isaiah 7:14

 

 

Joy For All People                                           Sun, December 9, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  Luke 2:8-20



Discover Christ in CHRISTmas                    Sun, December 2, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  Luke 2:8-20

 

 

Thanks Be to God                                           Sun, November 25 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  Matthew 25:14-30

 

 

The Thankful Christian                                 Sun, November 18, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  Ephesians 5:15-20

 

 

Gentleness & Self-Control                          Sun, November 11, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  Matthew 11:28-30  

 

 

Faithfulness                                                      Sun, November 4, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  2 Chronicles 20:20-21  

 

 

Goodness                                                          Sun, October 28, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  Paslm 107 : 1-9 

 

 

Patience and Kindness                                 Sun, October 21, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  Matthew 18: 21-35 

 

 

God's In Control                                                                   Sun, October 14, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  Luke 24: 33-53 

 

 

God Is Love                                                                           Sun, October 7, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  1 John 4: 7-16 

 

 

Weary and Worn                                                                 Sun, September 30, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  Matthew 11:25-30  


Sermon Notes


http://hockessinumc.org/mt-content/uploads/2018/10/hockessin-united-methodist-church-sermon-notes-for-sept._-30.pdf


Four Don'ts to Remember                                                Sun, September 23, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  Luke 21:5-19 


Sermon Notes


http://hockessinumc.org/mt-content/uploads/2018/09/hockessin-united-methodist-church-sermon-notes-for-sept._-23.pdf


 A Victory Celebration                                                        Sun, September 16, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  Psalm 149 


Sermon Notes


http://hockessinumc.org/mt-content/uploads/2018/09/9_16_18-hockessin-united-methodist-church-sermon-notes.pdf


Turning Your Darkest Hour Into Your Finest Hour    Sun, September 9, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:   James 1:2-4


Sermon Notes:

http://www.hockessinumc.org/mt-content/uploads/2018/09/hockessin-united-methodist-church-sermon-notes-for-sept._-9.pSdSf

Crumbs Under The Table                                    Sun, September 2, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:   Matthew 15:21-28



The Practice of Forgiveness                               Sun, August 26, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:   Matthew 18:21-35

 

 

Everyone Will Know                                              Sun, August 19, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:   John 13:31-35

 

 

Turning Pain Into Praise                                       Sun, August 12, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:   Job 1:13-22



Fixer Upper                                                               Sun, August 5, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:   Isaiah 40:28-30

 

 

The Priceless Value of Knowing Christ           Sun, July 29, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  Philippians  3:7-9

 

 

Jesus' Authority Is Our Security                         Sun, July 22, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  Mark  1: 21-28

 

 

Wings Like Eagles                                                   Sun, July 15, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  Isaiah  40: 28-31

 

 

The Power Of  Unity                                                Sun, July 8, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  Acts  4: 32-35

 

 

Renewal Through Living                                       Sun, July 1, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Vern Bryant                              Passage:  Romans  12: 1-2



Big Surprises in Small Packages                        Sun, June 17, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Laura A. Martin                        Passage:  Mark 4: 26-34

 

 

Memorial Day Message                                         Sun, May 27, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Laura A Martin                         Passage:  Revelation 7: 9-17



Beside Still Waters                                               Sun, April 8, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Laura A. Martin                          Passage:  John 11: 45-57

 

 

 Living in God's Will                                              Sun, Jan 28, 2018

by Rev. Dr. Laura A. Martin                           Passage:  Ephesians 4:17-5:2

 

 

Youth Sunday                                                          Sun, Jan 21, 2018

by The Youth of HUMC                                 Passage: Youth Message    

 





UPCOMING SERMON TOPICS

 

 

Weekly Gatherings of small groups for video & discussion